USTR Announces Intent to Change AGOA Eligible Countries

Posted by Timothy Miller on 11/3/23 5:00 PM

On October 31, 2023, the Office of the U.S. Trade Representative (USTR) announced the intent to reinstate Mauritania’s trade preference program eligibility under the African Growth and Opportunity Act (AGOA), effective January 1, 2024. In addition, Gabon, Niger, the Central African Republic, and Uganda will have their AGOA eligibility terminated, also effective January 1, 2024. 


Ambassador Katherine Tai stated in the press release, “Absent urgent changes, these four countries are set to be removed from the program due to actions taken by their governments that are inconsistent with the AGOA eligibility criteria.”


USTR’s press release can be found here:


President Biden’s letter of intent can be found here:,JOSEPH%20R.%20BIDEN%20JR.

Topics: USTR, AGOA

Expeditors' Newsflash articles are compiled from a number of public sources that, to the best of Expeditors' knowledge, are true and correct. It is our intent to present only accurate information. However, in the event any information contained herein is erroneous, Expeditors International of  Washington, Inc. accepts no liability or responsibility.                                                                                           

Copyright © Expeditors International of Washington, Inc.  Expeditors' Newsflash articles may not be reproduced in any form without advanced written consent of an authorized officer of the copyright holder.     

Recommended for you