Australia, Denmark, Norway, and the U.S. Issue Joint Statement on Export Controls

Posted by Kelsay Calvaruso on 12/27/21 5:00 PM

On December 10, 2021, the governments of Australia, Denmark, Norway, and the United States issued a joint statement recognizing the importance of advanced technologies and acknowledging that surveillance tools and other related technologies are being used in connection with significant human rights abuses. The governments commit to the establishment of a “nonbinding written code of conduct” by which “like-minded states could pledge . . . to use export control tools to prevent the proliferation of software and other technologies used to enable serious human rights abuses.” The governments of Canada, France, the Netherlands, and the United Kingdom have also expressed support for the initiative.

The joint statement can be found here:

Expeditors' Newsflash articles are compiled from a number of public sources that, to the best of Expeditors' knowledge, are true and correct. It is our intent to present only accurate information. However, in the event any information contained herein is erroneous, Expeditors International of  Washington, Inc. accepts no liability or responsibility.                                                                                           

Copyright © Expeditors International of Washington, Inc.  Expeditors' Newsflash articles may not be reproduced in any form without advanced written consent of an authorized officer of the copyright holder.     

Recommended for you