Canada and Australia Ratify the CPTPP

Posted by Matt Schmitt on 11/6/18 5:00 PM

Last week, the governments of Canada and Australia announced the ratification of the Trans-Pacific Partnership (CPTPP). Canada ratified the CPTPP on October 29, 2018 and Australia on October 31, 2018.

According to the Canadian Minister of International Trade Diversification, Jim Carr, “With the CPTPP, Canada will be the only G7 country with trade agreements with all other members of the G7.”

Canada’s ratification marks the fifth country and Australia’s ratification marks the sixth country to ratify the CPTPP. With six out of the eleven countries that signed the CPTPP ratifying it, the CPTPP will take effect on December 30, 2018, 60 days after Australia’s ratification.


The Canadian press release may be found here:

The Australian press release may be found here:

Topics: Canada, Australia, CPTPP

Expeditors' Newsflash articles are compiled from a number of public sources that, to the best of Expeditors' knowledge, are true and correct. It is our intent to present only accurate information. However, in the event any information contained herein is erroneous, Expeditors International of  Washington, Inc. accepts no liability or responsibility.                                                                                           

Copyright © Expeditors International of Washington, Inc.  Expeditors' Newsflash articles may not be reproduced in any form without advanced written consent of an authorized officer of the copyright holder.     

Recommended for you